What are the three psychosexual stages?

oral stage, anal stage, phallic stage, latency stage, and genital stage.

According to Sigmund Freud humans have five stages of development in which they develop sexually. He termed them ‘psychosexual stages of development’. The psychosexual development has five stages.

Oral stage is the first stage in which individual gets gratification through mouth by sucking. Its duration is from birth to about 1.5 years.

Anal stage is second stage in which individual gets toilet training. fixation at this stage may develop obsessive compulsive disorder later in life. It’s duration is about 1.5 years to 3.

Phallic stage is about between 3-5 years when source of gratification may be sexual parts. Two types of complexes may develop in this stage; oedipux (son’s rivalry with father) and electra (daughter’s rivalry with mother) complexes.

Latency stage occurs between 5 years to puberty. Ego defense mechanisms are developed in this stage.

Phallic stage goes throughout life after puberty to .

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *